Graduation Day…. With Other Shit In Between

 

 

May 21st, I woke up at 7 in the morning……today I will be a college graduate

        It took a long ass time seeing how I spent most of my college career partying and switching majors. I didn’t buckle down until the last 2 years, but hey, I got it done. Funny thing is that when I woke up May 21, my mind wasn’t on getting a degree. My mind was on the fact that Nathan and I were broken up and I always thought he would be in the audience to witness my day. Oh well, then I thought about Jo and me and the hot sex that we’d been having and how I couldn’t wait to climb up his leg once again. Anywho, enough talking about all these guys, it was D-day and you all pretty much get the general clue on what would happen:

  • Get up, do my business, get in the car and leave earlier than the rest of my family to get in line
  • Get to my school, don’t know where the hell I’m going even though I’ve been there for about 3 years
  • Wait in a hot ass room, barely big enough for 300 ppl that I don’t even know even though I’ve been there for about 3 years
  • Walk out to the March and spot my parents, and my mother in particular, in the cut crying her eyeballs out
  • Walk up, get my degree
  • Walk out, take pics with the folks
  • Go out to lunch to a place MY MOTHER decided because God forbide I pick where I want to eat on my day
  • Go get waxed up with my best friend/sister Daniella
  • Go home and sleep because we’re going out into the city tonight!!!!

As I got home I was about to lay my head down until I decided to check my messages. I hate checking messages but I figured my Grandma or somebody in my family called to wish me well on my day. Wrong! Instead I got this message:

“Hey E. It’s me, Nathan. You’re probably at school

right now graduating. I just wanted to congratulate you

and say sorry about how things ended. Give me a call. I would

like to take you out or something for like a graduation dinner

or something. Okay. Peace”

Wtf? Is he fuckin’ with me? Three weeks had gone by and now he decides to do something decent? And Nathan did that shit on purpose too. Called me up when he knew I wasn’t going to answer the phone. It’s all good though. I called him back, just to say thank you. Nothing more, nothing less:

“Hello?”

“Hi.” I said.

“Hey what’s good? Congratulations.”

“Thank you, I didn’t expect to hear from you.” I said

“I know.” He responded.

(silence)

“Oooookay, well this isn’t awkward.” I said to break the silence.

He laughed. “I wanna take you out, you know, for like a dinner, I know we have stuff to talk about.”

“I’ll see. I’m going out tonight so I’ll let you know.”

“Where you going?” Nathan asked.

“Out.” I responded back.

“Well be safe.” He said back.

“I will.”

Is he trying to fuck with my brain??? Why is it when you’re doing so good, something or someone pops back into the equation just to remind you of how your life “used” to be?

    Later that night, me and Daniella stepped into town looking fresh and feeling good. We met up with my cousin and his girlfriend and homeboy at Modern before heading over to Conneticut Ave. After our drinks, we made our way over to Current Sushi Lounge for a good friends surprise birthday. (Sidebar, getting a Bahama Mama from that place is lethal, try at your own risk. I would recommend something from their sake collection.) I know it was his birthday, but it was still my day. Bottles were flowing, drinks were every which way, and all I could think about was that Nathan called me today. I mean I was having a great time with my friends, table service was lovely, and I was looking fantabulous but Nathan was on my mind. Not in the way that I was going to get back with him but you can’t just throw almost 2 years out the window and pretend like it never happened. I don’t want him to get the wrong idea though, I don’t want to reconcile, I just want closure. I appreciate the phone call and congratulations but I still had some unanswered questions that needed to be answered. Well, the next day will be my Graduation Cookout, get ready for a hell of a story on what happened with that………………

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment